Superpowers | Fantasy | July Writing Challenge Day 17

If You Could Choose One Superpower, What Would It Be?

Can you see what it is?

Alan AJ
2 min readJul 17, 2023

--

A shadow of a person
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I will choose invisibility.

It’s an ironic choice because I sometimes feel invisible.

For example, when eating out, the staff often speak to my fiancée and ignore me when asking if our food is okay.

She is more approachable and experienced at dealing with people, having worked in retail for many years. In contrast, I look unfriendly or in a world of my own when I’m not actively trying to engage with people.

(When I go out without her, it does not happen as much, perhaps because I make more effort when I can’t rely on someone else.)

Back to the invisibility superpower…

I can imagine sneaking into places, discovering secrets, and causing mayhem.

But could I use it to make a living?

I could be a private detective! Invisibility would make it easier to find out if someone’s spouse is cheating on them.

Alternatively, I could work as a secret agent. But what if I sneezed in a top-secret location? It sounds too stressful! And I’d still need to get in and out…

--

--

Alan AJ

Honest, heartfelt stories with a touch of humour. Topics range from grief and love to technology, family, autism, ADHD, and everything in between!