Funny | Life Stories | eBay

My Surprising First eBay Sale In 2004

I could hardly believe it!

Alan AJ
3 min readMar 28, 2022

--

In the days before eBay, I sold many items I no longer needed by advertising them in the local newspaper. In other cases, my late wife placed adverts on the noticeboard where she worked.

Those old methods were usually quite successful.

My favourite sale was a used lawnmower which we’d bought a few years earlier. It sold for the same price we’d paid for it!

In 2002, I opened an eBay account. Initially, it was only used for purchasing items.

A couple of years later, I decided to try selling there too — and I was quite surprised by what happened.

The first item I sold on eBay was an unopened box of MiniDiscs because I was planning to get rid of the only MiniDisc device I owned.

(MiniDisc was an erasable digital music format from Sony. It was introduced in 1992 and discontinued about 20 years later. There’s a Wikipedia link at the end.)

I’d bought the MiniDiscs at my local supermarket a couple of years earlier. They looked quite appealing because they were in rainbow colours.

I took a few photos, wrote a description, and decided to be rather cheeky with the price.

--

--

Alan AJ

Honest, heartfelt stories with a touch of humour. Topics range from grief and love to technology, family, autism, ADHD, and everything in between!