Technology | Nostalgia | 1980s | Life Story

Remembering the Commodore Amiga

Facts, opinions, and personal memories of a revolutionary multimedia computer

Alan AJ
11 min readOct 5, 2022

--

This is an updated version of an article I wrote a few years ago for some of my now-defunct blogs.

To my non-technical readers: Look out for the photo of Amiga Format magazine. I hope you find that section amusing!

Original Amiga 1000 computer with keyboard and monitor
The original Amiga (known later as the Amiga 1000), with its ‘pizza box’ case and separate keyboard. Photo by Kaiiv licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0

I resigned myself to the fact that it would be a long time before I could afford such a machine.

Magazines at College

The original Amiga was launched in 1985 when I was still at college. I often used to read magazines in the library there, and remember discovering articles in Practical Computing and Personal Computer World — both of which covered the Amiga, as well as the Atari ST.

Compared to the 8-bit computers that I was familiar with, this new breed of more affordable 16-bit machines, which featured the powerful 68000 microprocessor, seemed incredible. It felt like the beginning of a new era.

--

--

Alan AJ

One day I'll think of something good to put here. For now, just know I'm 50-something years old and I keep writing about life.