Technology | Nostalgia | 1980s | Life Story

Remembering the Oric-1: A Home Computer Rival to the ZX Spectrum

A personal reflection on the Oric-1 computer and its competition with Sinclair’s ZX Spectrum

Alan AJ
4 min readDec 23, 2022

--

This is an updated version of an article I wrote a few years ago for some of my now-defunct blogs.

The Oric-1. Author’s own photo

Playground Rivals

The Oric-1 was a direct competitor to the Sinclair ZX Spectrum. Like its rival, it was released in 1982, with a choice of 16 or 48 KB of RAM. It also had a similar price tag.

Although a reasonable amount of software was released for the Oric, far more was available for the Spectrum.

At my high school, quite a lot of children had either a ZX Spectrum or an Oric-1. A few had other machines, such as the BBC Micro or VIC-20.

After finding out about the Oric’s superior sound facilities, I wished I’d chosen one instead of a Spectrum. I always wanted to try one out, but I never did back then.

I was also interested in comparing the Oric’s 1 MHz 6502 microprocessor with the Z80 found in the Spectrum. (I would eventually learn more about the 6502 when I got a Commodore 64.)

--

--

Alan AJ

Honest, heartfelt stories with a touch of humour. Topics range from grief and love to technology, family, autism, ADHD, and everything in between!