Grief | Memories | Family Life

The AJ Chronicles: 14 June 2024

Assembling the bookcase, a happy and sad occasion on the same day, my son’s work placement, sentimental clutter and bedroom conversion, my neighbour’s call for help, plus my recent Medium stories

Alan AJ
7 min readJun 14, 2024

--

A collage of four images. Old cutlery, flowers in a field at a crematorium, four tea towels including one of Devon scenes, and flowers in a green glass vase.
Top row: cutlery and utensils rescued from parents’ home, and flowers at the crematorium. Bottom row: my mum’s old tea towels, and flowers at home. Author’s photos

Sections

a. Recent Moments

b. Medium Stories

a. Recent Moments

  1. Assembling the bookcase 📚
  2. A happy and sad occasion on the same day 📅
  3. My son’s work placement 🛠️
  4. Sentimental clutter and bedroom conversion 📦🛏️
  5. It took a while to hear my neighbour’s call for help 🛟

1. Assembling the bookcase 📚

Last week, I described the back-breaking job of transporting a flatpack bookcase to my fiancée’s house. This week, I had the job of assembling it.

I was relieved that Stephanie had already opened the box and got her son to carry the pieces upstairs, one by one.

When Stephanie and I worked together on assembling it, I soon found that Argos…

--

--

Alan AJ

Past and present life moments with a touch of humour. Stories about grief, love, family, nostalgia, technology, autism, ADHD, and everyday experiences.