Family | Memories | Funny

The Time When I Wanted My Young Son To Go First

A scary moment during a fun day out

Alan AJ
3 min readMar 28, 2024

--

Plane Crazy ride at Oakwood Theme Park.
Plane Crazy at Oakwood Theme Park, Wales, 2011. Author’s photo

I enjoy the thrill of fairground rides, but I have my limits. I need to trust the equipment and feel safe.

If the place looks like it was built 40 years ago and never maintained, you can count me out. The same goes if I see flimsy-looking designs where my life depends on one chain.

During my late wife’s last holiday with us in 2011, we went to Oakwood Theme Park in Wales. The Plane Crazy ride was such good fun that I pushed my fears to the back of my mind. I loved how passengers could steer the planes.

Being the thrill seekers of the group, my youngest son and I shared a plane. We went wild and made it swing all over the place!

The author and one of his sons getting off the Plane Crazy ride at Oakwood Theme Park.
My youngest son and I loved this ride. Photo taken by the author’s wife in 2011

My wife Jane and our eldest son preferred a smoother ride, so they shared a separate plane.

Not all of Jane’s rides were gentle. She had plenty of fun and even went on a rollercoaster — despite the sign advising people with back problems to steer clear. (Cancer had made her spine weak.)

--

--

Alan AJ

One day I'll think of something good to put here. For now, just know I'm 50-something years old and I keep writing about life.