Father’s Day | Dad

Thinking About My Dad on Father’s Day

Reflections and cherished memories

Alan AJ
3 min readJun 16, 2024

--

Three flowers in a field: red, yellow, and white.
We placed three flowers at the crematorium today. Author’s photo

I wish my dad had lived to meet my late wife, my children, Stephanie, and her children. Sadly, he passed away almost 34 years ago.

Today was a pleasant Father’s Day. My sons got me cards and gifts, as did Stephanie’s daughter. We went out for a meal, and in the afternoon called at the crematorium to place flowers on my parents’ plot.

My dad turned 20 in 1939. He soon joined the army and served in WW2 until the end.

He didn’t talk about the gritty details of the war and never claimed the medals he was awarded. My impression was he was just glad to be alive.

He was a kind and gentle family man who lived without much regard for accumulating possessions.

We were not a wealthy family and never had a car. My dad worked as a cost clerk, and I don’t think it paid well. But he worked hard and often did overtime on Saturdays.

The one ‘luxury’ was a modest yearly holiday at the seaside. It was almost always self-catering, but I thoroughly enjoyed our family holidays.

My dad either cycled to work or went by bus. I was so keen to see him in the evenings that I would meet him on his way home.

--

--

Alan AJ

Past and present life moments with a touch of humour. Stories about grief, love, family, nostalgia, technology, autism, ADHD, and everyday experiences.